Let’s get to the stuff in the headline: Yes, a literal AR-15 rifle. America — what a place!

A Pontiac Fiero And An AR-15 For My Chevy Tracker

This one is in response to the Chevy Tracker I’ve got listed, which has somehow not sold yet despite being an amazing piece of off-road machinery. Behold the message:  

This person wants to trade me both a Pontiac Fiero — a mighty fine 1980s mid-engine sports car from General Motors — and an “ar15 300 blackout.” I’d love a Fiero:

As for an AR-15 300 Blackout, I honestly don’t even know what the terms after “AR-15” mean, so I looked them up, and found this: So the “300” refers to the .30 caliber rounds, and the Blackout is a range of weapons offered by Wilson Combat:

    Anyway, these things are worth about two grand new; I’m not sure what they’re worth used, mostly because I don’t really care. I’m pro-Fiero, but not particularly interested in owning an AR-15.

A Literal Houseboat For My Chevy Tracker

Recently a gentleman named Dane offered to trade me his houseboat for my Chevy Tracker. Out of curiosity, I asked to see it. Check it out:

It appears to be a bit of a fixer-upper, but I do like the wood tiles on the walls:

I am honored to have been offered a living quarters in exchange for a vehicle I bought for $700, but I don’t need a houseboat. God I love how random that trade offer is, though. A houseboat!

A Nice Chevy Suburban For My Chevy Tracker

I actually got one offer that I considered. Check it out:

I inquired further about the condition of this rust-free1995  Suburban. Here’s what Phillip told me: A daily-driven, rust-free tow vehicle! I won’t pretend like I wasn’t at least a little intrigued. I mean, the thing looks great:

But alas, rust free Suburbans abound in my new home out west, plus I need to get rid of vehicles, not trade them for bigger ones.

A Rusty Jeep For A Rusty Jeep

I recently sold my 1958 Willys FC-170 in preparation for my move out west, and I received some pretty good trade offers, including this rusty Jeep J4000, which I definitely wouldn’t have turned down if it had more actual metal

  This guy offered me some “shop equipment”:

  And this person, Scott, I’m just mentioning because he did the classic Facebook Marketplace move that tends to drive people crazy. I’m of course referring to the “punctuation-less one word message”:

Trades

A Chevy Caprice Wagon For My Lexus LX-470

You remember my 2001 Lexus LX-470? The nicest and most expensive car I’ve ever owned? (see above). Well, that thing brought in some nice offers before I eventually sold it for $7,200 — including this one:

Honestly, this Caprice is clean:

Someone even offered a five-speed “cateye” Chevy Silverado!

The “Cateye” Silverado is this one, by the way:

A five-speed truck is a tempting thing.

A Boat For My ‘Stolen’ Willys FC-150

Remember that red 1958 FC-150 I bought for two grand without a title or VIN plate? The one I joked about having been “stolen”? Well, before I sold the thing for five G’s, I got a few good trade offers, including this one for a “50s Willys Project Truck”:

And this one for a 1953 Chevy pickup “3800 model”:

But the crown jewel of trade offers for my “stolen” Willys was this boat:  

Behold:

I just love the confidence there; I didn’t even respond to confirm that I’m considering trades at all, and I certainly didn’t say anything about having access to water, but this guy sent over a whole album of boat pictures. Bold. Random. I love it!

A Bunch Of Random Cars For Trade

I’ve also gotten various vehicle-trade offers, of course. For my Chevy Tracker, someone offered a 1998 Lexus LS400:

That’s this car, by the way:

Someone also offered a “partial trade” involving a 2005 Jeep Liberty:

I actually quite like the Liberty, and if Drue had offered a manual model, I may not have been able to resist.

For my Holy Grail Jeep Grand Cherokee — the rare five-speed manual one shown below — someone offered me a Grand Cherokee.

Specifically, it was a person named Jovanni offering me a WJ:

I do like a WJ, but they’re all automatic, and Chrysler autos haven’t been known for their longevity in these vehicles.

What Trade Offers Have You Gotten?

So the various car models are fairly typical trade offers, but an AR-15? A HOUSEBOAT? Another boat? It’s all so random that I just love it. I’d love to hear about the strangest stuff you’ve been offered in exchange for the car you’re trying to sell. The kid driving the Alfa pulled up next to me behind the old sports car shop I worked in as a gofer. The Alfa was running and driving, barely, lumpy idle, smoking, dripping, maybe he had just wrenches on it all afternoon and wanted to take advantage of his brief moment out from under the hood. My car was rough but solid and fairly reliable. I vaguely knew the Alfa was a more desirable car, but I definitely knew I couldn’t afford to have it be my only ride to school and work on my $2.00 an hour part time wages. I turned him down, but wonder what if? I’m super curious what you’ll get for project cactus when you sell it. It inhabits that huge zone between junk heap and a ridiculously valuable restored example I wound up taking the SportCombi + some cash on top. It’s been a pain in my ass the whole time, but it zips which is a welcome change from the 300TD’s 87 hp. I once traded a ’80 CM400a for a ’83 diesel suburban that was pretty sweet, I then traded that suburban about 3 years later for a pistol and a stack of cash. I also traded a Husqvarna garden tractor for a Ruger 9mm, a 10/22 and a few hundred bucks cash. I have also took a car plus money few times when selling some cars. Quicker cash that way than to wait for the one buyer with enough cash. Cheaper trade-in is usually much easier to sell than the more expensive car.

A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 82A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 88A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 67A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 75A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 80A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 20A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 63A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 77A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 25A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 92A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 87A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 67A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 96A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 74A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 43A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 33A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 33A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 62A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 26A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 75A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 13A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 19A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 29A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 25A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 44A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 77A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 89A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 42A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 94A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 99A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 86A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 66A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 57A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 57A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 95A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 31A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 74A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 78A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 58A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 75A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 66A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 53A Houseboat  An AR 15 Rifle  Lots Of Junky Vehicles  Here Are The Weirdest Things People Have Tried To Trade Me For My Cars - 57