There’s something about the little Floride’s face that feels so eager and plucky and ready that I just want to spit lug nuts.  The look is clean and sleek but that yellow wide-eyed stare prevents it from ever becoming too self-important. It could likely look great with a grille, too, but that crisp, unbroken expanse of creased sheetmetal just feels so right. Also, the brochure this came from also features what may be one of the strangest look-what-you-can-cram-in-the-trunk images ever:

What is that, a seven amphorae trunk? Wait, no – those aren’t amphorae. I think those are oenochoae, maybe? I’m really not sure. This isn’t an ancient Greek pottery blog, after all – if you want that, you need to go to The Kylixcellence blog. They’re pretty good. Also, I want to watch her try and close the trunk lid on those. I bet it’s not easy. But I bet with the right tetrising, it can be done. BTW i’m now mostly ok with grill-less noses. I was going to say it only took a couple of years but i see the Tesla 3 came out 5 years ago.How did i lose track of time so badly?? Really accentuated the overall futuristic look of it. And doubly so on the wagon, which looked to kid me like something out of an ’80s scifi movie. 2022: “Well the entire front of the car was already grille, but we have to enlarge it by 5% annually, so we just made the whole car 3″ taller and 2″ wider to accommodate.” It’s noticeable on the road, sure, but up close wow is it overwhelming. And worse IMO, as you notice the fake parts. Which was why in the ’10s, with Detroit an actual hellhole and real cops driving Tauruses, I was like “wow…the future is here. But really, this one?” That Renault doesn’t have a grille but it has style. Enough character lines to be identifiable without looking cluttered. “Don’t worry I honey, I still love you despite you’re unreliable Renault.” But they do have a ridiculous short wheelbase, compared to the overhangs front and rear, so overall it’s a very strange looking car: http://mysixtiescars.com/Europe%20Models%20Page%20Images/Renault/EURenaultCaravelleheading.png This wasn’t a big surprise to me, which is why I didn’t bid as much on the car — I’d owned that Dauphine which I swear came pre-rusted from the factory! As a side note. It always amuses me when I travel to older cities or towns around the world, how some of them have mastered the art of setting cobblestones like a pool table and others look like they just poured them out and distributed them with a rake.

Cold Start  The Yellow Eyed Stare That Always Delights - 91Cold Start  The Yellow Eyed Stare That Always Delights - 45