What do you think about the Chevy Tracker? How good will it be off-road? I’ve been anxiously waiting months to find that out, because I suspect that it may be the best off-road bargain in America. It’s body-on-frame, it’s got skid-plates, it’s got low-range, it’s got a manual transmission and great gearing in the differentials — it has what it takes. I am a little concerned about geometry, as the bottoms of the bumpers and the rocker panels hang a bit low, but they’re not bad.

I think, especially with my nice Goodyear Wrangler Radial junkyard tires, that geometry is what will limit the Tracker’s off-road capabilities, but it should still be decent. I’m excited to find out. More than that, though: I’m excited to hang out with you [points into screen], dear Autopians. Here are the details: Where: Holly Oaks ORV Park, 14551 Shields Road, Holly, MI 48442 When: Saturday, November 12, 2022 9:30 A.M. meetup How: You need a flag that stands at least 10 feet above the ground. It must be a rectangular, orange flag. My plan is to snag a cheap, lightweight fiberglass pole from Home Depot and ziptie that pole to my grille. The orange flag will just be some orange fabric or plastic I find. Apparently you can purchase $30 tickets online to guarantee entry, so that’s not a bad idea. Email me at david@autopian.com if you have any questions.

This is just some friends and me going off-roading about an hour northwest of Detroit, and if you want to tag along, “send me a note,” as they say in corporate America.       Doesn’t quite sound like the best plan at this point

Detroit Area Autopians  Let s Go Off Roading On Saturday - 12Detroit Area Autopians  Let s Go Off Roading On Saturday - 20Detroit Area Autopians  Let s Go Off Roading On Saturday - 82