I just got back from Germany, and boy did I miss the car culture here in The Motor Suburb. I’m ready to drink it in, so let’s have an Autopian meetup at the usual spot, followed by a cruise down Woodward Avenue, which is going to be absolutely lit on Saturday evening. Bring a lawn chair, as I plan to set up shop on the side of the fabled M-1, and just sit there into the night. The details:   See you there, and if you live in the Detroit area, be sure to join The Autopian’s Detroit Facebook page so you don’t miss another one of these meetups. They’re pretty great. But please don’t bring anything for me to fix, I am still dead on my feet from over 4km of walking a day last week. Or at least keep it to Not The Tracker. I don’t think I’d be fully comfortable bringing, frankly, anything I picked up last night to a meet where people are driving though. The lowest ABV is a 7.4% and it’s a pint. Apparently, there’s something “unsafe” about operating a vehicle you can “fall through”. (Sorry, “vehicle”.) Not something I’d heard before, but I have it on good authority. Well, until the cops kick you out at 10PM, at least. Hope to catch the notification and make it out to another one of these events before the year is out. I’m thinking about alternating between Chicago and Milwaukee since I live equidistant from both.

Detroit Area Autopians  Let s Have A Car Show At Walmart Saturday Evening - 25