Uggg, I just threw up a bunch of reddish fluid. It was kinda sweet, reinforcing my antifreeze theory. Get it together, Jj! David’s gonna be on my ass if this doesn’t meet our “Double E” standard of entertaining and educational, so, um, Saviem was a French truck company and their name is an acronym for Société Anonyme de Véhicules Industriels et d’Équipements Mécaniques which, to English-reading eyes seems like a secret society of anonymous people who build construction equipment. Here’s a cute die-cast model of a Saviem flatbed truck carrying a Renault 16:

There, now we all know something about Saviem. Oh and they were around from 1955 to 1978. Two things. That covers one ‘e’ and look, everyone just pretend this was entertaining. I’m gonna go lay on the carpet in a fetal ball and shake like how my cars idle. *Also Strega. No. Just… no. There are few things on this earth better than a Campari and Soda over ice on a hot summer’s day. Simple! Refreshing! Delicious! Classic! The problem is that you should never allow yourself to get drunk on anything that has Campari in it. A bit tipsy is fine, sure, but never risk more than that. I also learned that lesson the hard way. Everyone has their own sensitivities. Anything nearly as drunk on Campari results in severe hangovers. Whiskey and bourbon of any sort is also dangerous to me. This week has been the longest month I’ve had at this job so far, and yesterday the gates of Hell itself opened up with a tunnel going directly to the parts department apparently. A service advisor with one lone kernel of candy corn for a brain, angry customers that can’t read the giant sign above the door that says “PARTS,” Dealertrack being the worst program designed by man, GM offering 6,000 different mud flaps that may or may not actually fit because even with the VIN they can’t tell me jack on the accessories site, and more all in the last 45 minutes while my co-worker is trying to place the daily order. Suffice it to say, I had worked up a mighty thirst, and by the Blessed Mother of Acceleration I quenched it. So this morning, I have never seen a truck that was so physically relatable. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AY1sBXjl0s8 Apologies to flyingstitch, if they don’t get the reference. Been there, done that, I even have an in depth explanation with pictures ( sadly not of the feet on the hood ) both as a driver and a passenger. ( note that as a driver it was a lot of work as I was driving mountain on mountain roads, it was a bit like dancing between the pedals and the hood with your feet ) Looks a lot like the Renault Goelette heavy van from the same time, but Saviem and Renault were pretty close in the last century. Or maybe that is just how a french not small truck looked in the 50ies: http://www.autominded.net/brochure/renault/1954%20Renault%201400%2001.jpg

Everybody Meet Hangover Truck  Cold Start - 38Everybody Meet Hangover Truck  Cold Start - 58