Look, they even color-coordinated the rubber impact strips on the bumper! And look at the dude they have modeling with the car, dressed to match that rolling, V8-powered Werther’s Original there. That’s not a guy you’d see in modern premium car ads.

Also, here’s something I wasn’t aware of: Lincoln offered a “Carriage Roof” option in place of the vinyl half-roof, and this one covered the whole roof, but eliminated the opera windows in favor of “personal mirrors” inside. What the hell? From what I can sort of see in that pic, the “personal mirrors” must fit into the oval holes the opera windows once used, and so are big oval mirrors on the inside C-pillars there. I wonder if that’s weird to ride in back there, always catching your own eye off to the side. Stop staring at me, me! No, you stop! What I’d want is the body and velour seats of these dropped onto a Tesla Model S chassis. “It’s poetry….the poetry of war.” The bicycle boom. High end, high quality vintage touring and sport bikes are STILL cheap because of overproduction which started in the 1970s until they were supplanted by mountain bikes of the 1980s. Those had their own boom and are still cheap today too. You’d have to have an equally large cabin to fit them in. They always struck me as a little jarring – very ’70s not-to-distant-future, we-wear-turtlenecks-now high tech – on such otherwise baroque designs. I like it. It was not a good car. It was unreliable and turned like a pig and the carb was never quite tuned right and the seats had indeed turned into limp bags and it barely fit in our garage and the fuel economy was terrible and the “Cartier” clock in the dash didn’t keep time and so many other bad things. But my god, look at the glorious bastard. I still love it. And on that note, Torch! You didn’t mention the best part of these cars. Those opera windows had “simulated diamond chip” in the opera windows. SIMULATED DIAMOND. The V10 is a gas-guzzling pig. And the Ecoboost 2.7 has at least 1.5 times the power that these old beasts had stock. Is it really that hard to put electric motors on the existing pumps? Where is the joie de vivre? That’s all I’m asking. I absolutely love it.

I m Not Saying The Past Was Better But It Was More Butterscotch  Cold Start - 10I m Not Saying The Past Was Better But It Was More Butterscotch  Cold Start - 16