I mean, look how they lit this Grand Safari, alone and forlorn on a dock that looks like it’s barely big enough to hold it:

And now look at Caravaggio’s 1599-1600 painting, The Calling of St. Matthew:

See what I mean? If Caravaggio was hired to paint a Pontiac wagon, I’m pretty sure the result would be almost exactly like what Pontiac did in this 1974 Brochure. You know what else is interesting? It seems there’s some ambiguity about who St.Matthew actually is in this painting. Some scholars think it’s the bearded dude doing the “who me?” gesture, but others think he’s pointing to the guy slumped over the coins at the end of the table. This is why some art historians feel Caravaggio should have painted his figures with those “Hello, my name is” tags.   “Dock big enough for two station wagons full of dead bodies!” Love it when you put that art history degree to work, Torch! I have one disagreement with you on styling, though: I’ve always dug the “beak” on the Colonnade cars, like the Lemans wagon on the right up there. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNPnbI1arSE Caravaggio probably tops my list of artists whose work I love but wouldn’t want to socialize with.

Pontiac s Carravagio Period  Cold Start - 81Pontiac s Carravagio Period  Cold Start - 30Pontiac s Carravagio Period  Cold Start - 81