First, if you somehow haven’t seen this ad from the early 2000s, here it is:

The Taillight Ruiners chain used to be all over Southern California, but I think they’re all gone now, replaced by cheap DIY taillight ruining kits you can get online. Nobody really appreciates the value of a professionally-ruined taillight anymore. Anyway, the taillight used in that goofy animation is from a 1974 Lancia Beta coupe. Please, spread the word so people stop accosting me. Also, in that ad you can see the roofline of my old Volvo P1800, my wife’s old Buick Skylark (which had an already broken taillight we sacrificed to make this), our old Rabbit convertible, and an extra taillight from my Beetle. I show this goofy thing like once every six years. You’re welcome. Just when I thought that you were already pretty weird, you show that you’ve always been weirder. Good job https://youtu.be/O1lZ9n2bxWA Also, how have I never seen this?! Well, now we know that Jason has always been Jason. That’s…reassuring?

The Real Taillights Behind  Taillight Ruiners   Cold Start - 83